Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
Font Size Change
Easy Web Browsing tool

【METI Mobile】Japan’s First National Cybersecurity Qualification System

photo:Emblem of a Registered Information Security Specialist (RISS)

As cyberattacks grow more frequent worldwide, Japan has introduced a new national cybersecurity qualification system to help combat the threat.

Protecting enterprises and government

Cyberattacks can cripple important infrastructure such as power plants, large industrial plants, aircrafts and railways, leaving the people who rely on these services extremely vulnerable.
Private companies, from large corporations to SMEs, are also exposed to the risk of information leaks.

IT Security Support Provider

To officially certify individuals to assess cybersecurity vulnerabilities and advise enterprises on countermeasures, Japan revised the Act on Facilitation of Information Processing in October 2016 to establish a new program. Known as the “Registered Information Security Specialist” (RISS) system, the new national qualifications are granted to professionals who pass an examination.

Mandatory annual training

The first round of examinations will be held in April 2017. To remain RISS-certified individuals must also take annual training courses online or through classroom lectures to learn the latest defense measures against the rapidly evolving threat of cyberattacks.

Related Information

Last updated: 2016-12-12
Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
1-3-1 Kasumigaseki, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-8901, Japan Tel: +81-(0)3-3501-1511
Copyright Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry. All Rights Reserved.

to TOP