1. Home
  2. Policies
  3. METI Quick Reads
  4. Japan Sets Standard for Service and Hospitality with Purple “Murasaki” Certificate

Japan Sets Standard for Service and Hospitality with Purple “Murasaki” Certificate


Previously, METI Mobile introduced Japan’s Omotenashi Standard Certification System, a program designed to help customers recognize high-quality Japanese service at a glance. Businesses can receive four levels of certification, including one that involves screening by a third party. A growing number of businesses have earned the highest ranking Purple Certificate, or “murasaki” in Japanese.

Four levels of service excellence

From basic to most advanced, levels of Omotenashi Standard Certification System include red (“beni”), gold (“kin”), navy (“kon”) and purple (“murasaki”). To qualify for the top-level Purple Certificate, businesses must meet at least 24 of 30 service standards, and pass a screening by an authorized organization to measure their expertise across these categories.

What certificated businesses have in common

Businesses with Purple Certificates have been judged as outstanding compared to typical businesses. Though each is unique, they all demonstrate the following qualities which signify excellence:

Making service quality more visible

Across Japan, Purple Certificates have been awarded to 10 businesses in total, including an inn established in the Kinosaki hot spring area more than 150 years ago, a global distributor of comprehensive information, and a sports club with a close tie with the local community.

Through the Omotenashi Standard Certification System, METI aims to make the service quality of Japanese businesses more clearly visible to customers, vitalizing the service industry and increasing productivity.

Last updated:2019-05-24