1. Home
  2. Policies
  3. Policy Index
  4. Standards and Conformity

Standards and Conformity

International Standards

International standards are standards established by international standardization organizations, e.g. the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).
The ISO establishes international standards for a wide variety of fields, excluding electricity, electronics and communications, while the IEC establishes such standards for the fields of electricity and electronics, and the ITU establishes them for the fields of communications, broadcasting, and information and communications.
In principal, each member country is eligible to cast a vote on a one-body one-vote basis for developing international standards.
As Japan’s only member body, the Japanese Industrial Standards Committee (JISC), which is a committee established under the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), participates in activities of the ISO and IEC.

Japanese Industrial Standards

Stipulated under the Industrial Standardization Act, the Japanese Industrial Standards (JIS) are a collection of national standards certified by the government of Japan, aiming at the improvement of products in terms of quality, performance and safety, as well as the enhancement of production efficiency and other areas.
The JIS stipulate a variety of product criteria, including types/scales, quality/performance, safety, testing methods for assessing these criteria, and other standard criteria that products should meet. These standards are utilized to ensure product reliability for manufacturers, users and consumers.

METI establishes or revises new standards for the JIS in response to technological advancements, safety requirements and other societal changes as necessary.

Division in Charge

International Standardization Division and International Electrotechnology Standardization Division

Last updated:2023-04-14