Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
Font Size Change

The ISO Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award Presented with a Japanese-led ISO Subcommittee in the Rubber Field

A Japanese-led ISO subcommittee (ISO/TC45/SC2) in the field of rubber was presented with the Lawrence D. Eicher Award (hereinafter referred to as the “Eicher Award”) for its great contribution to the development of ISO and its outstanding achievements. This recognition was announced at the ISO General Assembly held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on September 11, 2014.

1. Outline

The Eicher Award was established to encourage creative and collaborative activities of the ISO committees in developing international standards and is granted to a committee out of more than 700 committees, which excels in introducing innovative and effective processes and solutions. On September 11, 2014, the winning team for the 12th award was announced and its commendation ceremony was held, on the occasion of the 37th ISO General Assembly held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The winning subcommittee ISO/TC45/SC2 is a group for standardizing test and analysis methods of rubber and rubber products, led by Mr. Masami Aoki, secretary,* and Mr. Michio Okuyama, chairperson,** both of whom belong to the Japan Rubber Manufacturers Association. The recognition represents high acclaim for Japan’s outstanding performance and achievements in developing global standardization efforts.

In the wake of Japan winning such a prestigious award, Japan will further promote strategic efforts for international standardization, being conducive to the creation of new markets as well as the enhancement of Japan’s industrial competitiveness.

* The secretary of an ISO committee leads all the technical and administrative services for managing the committee, including its authorization to designate a chairperson of the committee.
** The chairperson of an ISO committee leads and arranges the meetings of the committee and is responsible for smooth development of standards.

2. Pictures of the commendation ceremony in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

From left to right: Mr. Aoki, ISO President Terry Hill, and ISO Vice-President Elisabeth Stampfl-Blaha

Mr. Aoki presenting a speech at the commendation ceremony

Reference: History of the Japanese winners

The ISO committees led by Japanese secretaries won the award twice in 2003 by ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29 (coding of audio, picture, multimedia and hypermedia information) and in 2005 by ISO/TC8 (ships and marine technology). For Japan, this recognition is the third win in total and the first win in nine years.

Release Date

September 12, 2014

Division in Charge

International Standardization Division, Industrial Science and Technology Policy and Environment Bureau

Related Information

International Standards

Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
1-3-1 Kasumigaseki, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 100-8901, Japan Tel: +81-(0)3-3501-1511
Copyright Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry. All Rights Reserved.