1. Home
  2. News Releases
  3. Back Issues
  4. October FY2018
  5. Announcement of Winners of the FY2018 3Rs (Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle) Awards

Announcement of Winners of the FY2018 3Rs (Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle) Awards

October 26, 2018

The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) hereby announces the winners of the FY 2018 3Rs (Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle) Promotion Merit Awards, which are supported by METI.

The presentation ceremony will be held at the KKR Hotel Tokyo from 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, October 30, 2018.

1. Purpose and outline of the awards program

The awards program has been held annually since 1992 to recognize individuals, groups, schools, enterprises, and other entities for their outstanding levels of unique, community-based, and pioneering contributions to promoting the 3Rs (Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle), thereby encouraging the development of further activities to this end. The program is hosted by the 3Rs Promotion Council and supported by seven related ministries,* including METI.

*Note: The seven related ministries:
Ministry of Finance (MOF), Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (MHLW), Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (MAFF), Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT), and Ministry of the Environment (MOE).

2. Details of the applicants and the examination process

The council received 87 applications, nominated by the 69 member entities of the council in addition to governors of prefectures, while the examination committee of academic experts, consumer organization representatives, officials from related ministries and agencies, and others (chair: Dr. Fumihiko Kimura, Emeritus Professor at the University of Tokyo) examined the applications and selected the winners of the respective Minister’s Prizes from the related ministries, including the Prime Minister’s Prize, the METI Minister’s Prize, and also the 3Rs Promotion Council President’s Prize.

3. Details of the winners

Prime Minister’s Prize Production and Economy Course, Mie Prefectural Ohka High School Toward the revitalization of regional areas through the biomass industry -efforts for utilization of digestive fluids as a liquid fertilizer-
Prime Minister’s Prize GreenMessage (corporate number: 1012401024856) and Kewpie Corporation (corporate number: 6011001006277) Promotion of resource recycling taking advantage of unused resources, an effort by group companies of Kewpie Corporation -taking on a new ecology field taking advantage of unused parts of vegetables-
METI Minister’s Prize RIPRO Corporation, Japan (corporate number: 7260001007061) Taking on new challenges in plastic recycling through integration with IT technologies -efforts for seeking potential of piles-
METI Minister’s Prize Hitachi Industrial Equipment Nakajo Engineering Co., Ltd. (corporate number: 8110001013263) and Tokyo Eco Recycle Co., Ltd. (corporate number: 8010601026716) Promotion of domestic recycling of base metals and rare-earth elements by recycling of information and communication equipment

Table of the winners of the Prime Minister’s Prize and other minister’s prizes from the seven related ministries

Prime Minister’s Prize 2 MAFF Minister’s Prize No winner
MOF Minister’s Prize No winner METI Minister’s Prize 2
MEXT Minister’s Prize 1 MLIT Minister’s Prize 5
MHLW Minister’s Prize No winner MOE Minister’s Prize 1

4. Presentation ceremony

Date: October 30 (Tue.), 2018; from 14:00 to 15:30
Venue: KKR Hotel Tokyo (1-4-1, Otemachi, Chiyoda Ward, Tokyo)

5. Contact counter for the details of the awards program and the presentation ceremony

For the details of the awards program and the presentation ceremony, contact the Secretariat of the 3Rs Promotion Council. Details about the winners and their awards have been posted on the Secretariat’s website.

Secretariat of the 3Rs Promotion Council:
Address: 2-2-1 Kaji-cho, Chiyoda Ward, Tokyo
Telephone: 03-5209-7704 (main number)

Division in Charge

Resource Efficiency and Circular Economy Division, Industrial Science and Technology Policy and Environment Bureau

Related website