1. Home
  2. News Releases
  3. Back Issues
  4. January FY2019
  5. METI Revises Requirements under the Omotenashi Standard Certification System

METI Revises Requirements under the Omotenashi Standard Certification System

January 17, 2019

In 2017, the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) implemented the full-scale operation of the Omotenashi Standard Certification System to make the quality of services provided by businesses in the domestic service industry visible to customers. Aiming to encourage businesses to more smoothly engage in efforts for enhancing productivity through acquisition of the certification, METI hereby revised the requirements that such businesses should meet in being certified under the system.

1. Outline of the system

The Omotenashi Standard Certification System aims to make the quality of services in the service industry visible to customers, vitalize the industry and improve its productivity.

To be registered or certified under the system, applicant businesses need to confirm their conformity with the requirements, which are criteria for measuring the efforts of businesses for enhancing the satisfaction of their customers, employees and communities, and fulfill the predetermined number of requirements under the free registration category or the three certification categories. Registered or certified businesses will obtain a certification sign, registration certificate or certification, allowing them to display it in its shop or office as proof to service users of the quality of its service.

2. Key points of the revision

The previous system set 30 requirements for assessing business efforts for: business improvement; introduction of tools; human resource development; customer understanding; and other efforts which are considered difficult to clearly express their quality of service and business management.

METI revised and categorized the requirements into 40 requirements consisting of: 30 requirements involving “service business management," which aims to encourage businesses to sustainably make a PDCA cycle of their services to smooth and improve such services; and 10 requirements involving “efforts for attracting overseas visitors,” which targets businesses proactively engaging in efforts for attracting overseas visitors.

Moreover, under the revised system, a business which applies for a third-party certification concerning service business management will additionally be able obtain a special certificate called a “traveler-friendly certificate” as long as it is confirmed that it satisfies the predetermined number of requirements involving efforts for attracting overseas visitors. Certification signs for the traveler-friendly certificate are as follows.


3. Future schedule

The system is operated by the Service Design Engineering Council. The council will start accepting new applications on January 17, 2019. The operation of the revised system will start on April 1, 2019.


Division in Charge

Service Affairs Policy Division, Commerce and Service Industry Policy Group

Related website