# **Explanatory Notes**

### 1. Abbreviated expressions

ADB : Asian Development Bank

APEC : Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation
ASEAN : Association of South-East Asian Nations

BIS : Bank for International Settlements

UNCTAD : United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

CPTPP : Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership

DFFT : Data Free Flow with Trust ECB : European Central Bank

EPA : Economic Partnership Agreement

FAO : Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

FRB : Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

FSB : Financial Stability Board FTA : Free Trade Agreement

G7 : Group of Seven G20 : Group of Twenty

GATS : General Agreement on Trade in Services
GATT : General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade

GCC : Gulf Cooperation Council
GDP : Gross Domestic Product

HS : Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System

IEA : International Energy Agency
 ILO : International Labor Organization
 IPEF : Indo-Pacific Economic Framework
 ITU : International Telecommunication Union

IMF : International Monetary FundJETRO : Japan External Trade Organization

JOGMEC : Japan Organization for Metals and Energy Security

M&A : Merger and Acquisition

NAFTA : North American Free Trade Agreement

NEDO : New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization

NEPAD : New Partnership for Africa's Development

NIEs : Newly Industrializing Economies

OECD : Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development

PPP : Paycheck Protection Program

RCEP : Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership
RIETI : Research Institute of Economy, Trade and Industry

SBT : Science Based Targets

SDGs : Sustainable Development Goals

UNCTAD : United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

USMCA : US Mexico Canada Agreement

USTR : office of the United States Trade Representative

WHO : World Health Organization

WIPO : World Intellectual Property Organization

WTO : World Trade Organization

#### \*EPA/FTA

GATT/WTO calls FTAs (abolition of tariffs and numerical restrictions between the member countries) and customs unions (abolition of tariffs and numerical restrictions between the member countries plus common tariffs against non-member countries) Regional Trade Agreements. This White Paper generally uses FTAs as a collective term inclusive of the customs unions, and uses them separately only when an exact differentiation of them are necessary. In addition, this White Paper uses the term EPAs (economic partnership agreements) to refer to agreements which cover a wider range of fields, not only trade liberalization but investment liberalization and various bi-lateral co-operation for example, than FTAs.

## 2. Figures/mathematical expressions, etc.

- (1) A year, written within the text or within a statistical table, is a calendar year (January-December) unless stated otherwise. Likewise, a financial year (FY) is the 12-month period from April 1 to March 31 of the following year, unless stated otherwise.
- (2) Figures are rounded, as a general rule. Therefore, there are cases where figures are not consistent with the corresponding total.
- (3) When used alone, the symbol "-" indicates that a value is unclear, cannot be reported, or does not exist for the relevant item, unless stated otherwise. A "0" indicates a value of less than one.

### 3. Classification of countries and regions

- (1) In some cases, the term "country" includes regions.
- (2) The definitions of NIEs and ASEAN are as follows:
  - (A) NIEs are four countries/regions: Republic of Korea (ROK), Taiwan, Hong Kong and Singapore.
  - (B) Of these countries/regions, ROK, Taiwan and Singapore are referred to as "NIEs3" in this White Paper.
  - (C) ASEAN is 10 countries: Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Viet Nam, Brunei Darussalam, Lao PDR, Myanmar and Cambodia.
  - (D) The first four of these countries (Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia and Malaysia) are referred to as "ASEAN4" in this White Paper.
- (3) "BRICs" are four countries: Brazil, Russia, India, and China.
- (4) The term "EU" refers to the European Union which was founded when the Treaty on European Union came into effect in November 1993. The number of member countries is 27 countries after the U.K.'s exit from the EU at the end of January 2020. The term "Euro area" refers to 19 countries in which a single currency "euro" has been introduced.

The descriptions in this White Paper are based on information that can be grasped as of the end of March,

2022, unless stated otherwise.