1. Home
  2. News Releases
  3. Back Issues
  4. June FY2022
  5. Informal Ministerial Discussion on the Trade Pillar of the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF) for Prosperity Held

Informal Ministerial Discussion on the Trade Pillar of the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF) for Prosperity Held

June 13, 2022

Joint Press Release with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

An informal ministerial meeting on the trade pillar of the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF) was held in Paris, France on June 11. Mr. Hirose Naoshi, Vice-Minister for International Affairs (METI), and Mr. Miyake Shingo, Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs (MOFA), attended the meeting, representing the Japanese government.

The informal ministerial meeting (held at the George C. Marshall Center) was hosted by US Trade Representative Katherine Tai and attended by representatives from Australia, Brunei, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

At the meeting, representatives from these participating countries discussed trade—one of the four pillars of the IPEF. Japan's representatives expressed the importance of establishing a framework that strikes a balance between cooperation and rule-making, through extensive discussions among participating countries.

Each participating country also expressed hope for further discussions toward tangible outcomes in the future.


Attendees from each country other than Japan and the US (in alphabetical order)

Australia: Senator Tim Ayres, Assistant Minister for Trade and Assistant Minister for Manufacturing
Brunei Darussalam: Dato Seri Setia Dr Awang Haji Mohd Amin Liew bin Abdullah, Minister at the Prime Minister's Office and Minister of Finance and Economy II
Fiji: Mr. Shaheen Ali, Permanent Secretary for Commerce, Trade, Tourism and Transport, Town and Country Planning
India: Shri Amit Yadav, Additional Secretary for Commerce
Indonesia: Mr. Djatmiko Bris Witjaksono, Director General of International Trade Negotiations at the Ministry of Trade
Malaysia: Dato’ Seri Mohamed Azmin bin Ali, Senior Minister, Minister of International Trade and Industry
New Zealand: Hon. Damien O'Connor, Minister for Trade and Export Growth
Philippines: Dr. Ceferino S. Rodolfo, Undersecretary for the Industry Development and Trade Policy Group of the Department of Trade and Industry
Republic of Korea: Dr. Ahn Duk-geun, Minister of Trade at the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy
Singapore: Mr. Gan Kim Yong, Minister for Trade and Industry
Thailand: Mrs. Pimchanok Pitfield, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the WTO and WIPO
Vietnam: H.E. Ms. Le Thi Hong Van, Ambassador and Permanent Delegate to UNESCO

Division in Charge

Economic Partnership Division, Trade Policy Bureau